This is the "ALL" page of the "ART Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ART Resources  

This guide is designed to find information about painters, paint, ceramics, texture and much more!
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2012 URL: http://coalinga.westhillscollege.libguides.com/content.php?pid=222954 Print Guide RSS Updates

ALL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ART

Cover Art
Rex Ray - Ray, Rex
Call Number: 760.092 RAY
ISBN: 9780811859752
Rex Ray is the first monograph to span the career of the acclaimed artist in various media, including paper cutouts, paintings, digital prints and the highly admired graphic design and music packaging that launched his visual career.As acclaimed author Douglas Coupland says in his foreword, Rex's art is "unslick, but ... superslick at the same time." Colour-bursting, curvaceous and retro-futuristic, it is coveted in interior design as well as high-art circles, while his design work includes album covers for David Bowie and Joe Satriani and posters for the Rolling Stones, Patti Smith, U2 and Bjork. Rex Ray is a treasure trove of his sleek, visually pleasing aesthetic.



Cover Art
Frida Kahlo [videorecording] - Kultur International Films
Call Number: 704.042 FRI
ISBN: 0769780970
Frida Kahlo began to paint in 1925 while recovering from a streetcar accident that left her permanently disabled. Many of her 200 paintings directly relate to her experiences with physical pain. They also chronicle her turbulent relationship with artist Diego Rivera. Today Kahlo's work is critically and monetarily as prized as that of her male peers, sometimes more so.


Cover Art
Night visions : the secret designs of moths - Scheer, Joseph H.
Call Number: O 595.78 SCH
ISBN: 3791329685
An astonishing collection of images so vibrant they seem poised to fly off the page.In a place where art, science and technology meet, Joseph Scheer's images of moths emerge. These ubiquitous creatures are often considered drab-colored poor relations of the ?beautiful? butterfly; Scheer's artwork will forever change that notion. By using a high-resolution scanner, recently developed digital printing technology, and an artist's sensibility, he brings forth the subtleties and astonishing varieties of color and textures that moths possess. The result is a glittering jewel box of brilliantly colored, intricately formed creatures, each with its own landscape of tiny hairs, kaleidoscopic color, iridescent eyes and antennae as intricate as filigree.Scheer's moth experiments started out as a fine art print installation to show a range of insects at large scale in a single room, and have now expanded into a biodiversity project with a significant number of specimens. This exquisitely produced volume features one hundred and fifty prints selected from Scheer's extensive collection, images of such incredible depth and color you'll want to reach out and touch them. Certainly you'll never look at a moth the same way again.

Cover Art
Effective grading : a tool for learning and assessment - Walvoord, Barbara E. Fassler, 1941-
Call Number: O 378.16 WAL
ISBN: 0787940305
Effective Grading is written for the faculty member who believes the grading process is a valuable measure of student learning. This hands-on guide for evaluating student work offers an in-depth examination of the linkage between teaching and grading. It uses grades not as isolated artifacts, but as part of a process that, when integrated with course objectives, provides rich information about student learning. The authors reveal how the grading process can also be used for broader assessment objectives, such as curriculum and institutional assessment. As practical as it is informative, Effective Grading contains a wealth of special materials, including AAHE's Principles of Good Practice for Assessing Student Learning, types of assignments and tests, and a plan for a faculty workshop on grading and assessment. In addition, the book provides background to the principles of the grading process as well as a wealth of illustrative examples, offering faculty both a sound basis in assessment theory and the practical tools they need to put it to work.

Cover Art
The sun in art, die sonne in der Kunst, le soleil dans l'art - Herdeg, Walter, ed.
Call Number: O 709 HER

Cover Art
Architecture - Stevenson, Neil.
Call Number: O 720 STEV
ISBN: 0789419653
Double-page spreads with annotations highlight the important features that distinguish 50 celebrated architectural masterpieces--from the Temple of Amun, Karnak and the Taj Mahal, to the Empire State Building and the Sydney Opera House. The book's generous size and superb reproduction allow architectural themes and influences and structural features to be revealed in detail. Particular areas of interest, such as biographical information on the architect, are prominently featured. 10.5x14 . Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Cover Art
Gee's Bend : the architecture of the quilt - Arnett, William
Call Number: O 746.46 ARN
ISBN: 0971910456
In 2002, Gee's Bend burst into international prominence through the success of Tinwood's Quilts of Gee's Bend exhibition and book, which revealed an important and previously invisible art tradition from the African American South. Critics and popular audiences alike marveled at these quilts that combined the best of contemporary design with a deeply rooted ethnic heritage and compelling human stories about the women.Gee's Bend: The Architecture of the Quiltis a major book and museum exhibition that will premiere at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (MFAH), in June 2006 before traveling to seven American museums through 2008. The book's 330 color illustrations and insightful text bring home the exciting experience to readers while displaying all the cultural heritage and craftsmanship that have gone into these remarkable quilts.

Cover Art
The technique of landscape painting - Taubes, Frederic, 1900-1981
Call Number: O 758.1028 TAU
materials, tools, color, composition, painting techniques, demostrations

Cover Art
Leonardo da Vinci--the complete paintings - Marani, Pietro C.
Call Number: O 759.5 MARA
ISBN: 0810935813
This exquisite & luxuriously produced monograph is the seminal volume on the paintings of the great Renaissance master.

Cover Art
The color encyclopedia of world art - Jacobs, Jay.
Call Number: O 703 JACO
ISBN: 051752208X

Cover Art
Plastics for kinetic art - Roukes, Nicholas.
Call Number: O 702.8 ROUK
ISBN: 0823040291
How to use mirrors, reflective shapes, lenses, light polarizer’s, prisms, and magnetic force to make constructions, lamps, color guns, sculpture, flat-surface kinetics, light boxes, lumia, photomontages.

Cover Art
Three thousand years of Chinese painting - Barnhart, Richard M., 1934-
Call Number: O 759.95 THRE
ISBN: 0300070136
Drawing on museum collections, archives, and archaeological sites in China, and other sources, the authors present and analyze the very best examples of Chinese painting over a span of some 3,000 years--from Neolithic painted petroglyphs, early paintings on silk, and landscapes by 12th century literati to traditional handscrolls produced today. Interesting for the general reader and revelatory for the scholar. 300 color and 25 b&w illustrations.

Cover Art
The art of gaman : arts and crafts from the Japanese American internment camps, 1942-1946 - Hirasuna, Delphine, 1946-
Call Number: O 704.0869 HIR
ISBN: 1580086896
In 1942, Executive Order 9066 mandated the incarceration of 110,000 Japanese Americans, including men, women, children, the elderly, and the infirm, for the duration of the war. Allowed only what they could carry, they were given just a few days to settle their affairs and report to assembly centers. Businesses were lost, personal property was stolen or vandalized, and lives were shattered. The Japanese word gaman means "enduring what seems unbearable with dignity and grace. "Imprisoned in remote camps surrounded by barbed wire and guarded by soldiers with machine guns, the internees sought courage and solace in art. Using found materials at first and later what they could order by catalog, they whittled and carved, painted and etched, stitched and crocheted. What they created is a celebration of the nobility of the human spirit under adversity. THE ART OF GAMAN presents more than 150 examples of art created by internees, along with a history of the camps.Reviews". . . demonstrates the poignancy of the internment experience and the strength of the human spirit."-Alaska Airlines Magazine

Cover Art
Painting people : figure painting today - Mullins, Charlotte
Call Number: O 750.28 MUL
ISBN: 1933045388
Painting People: Figure Painting Today ISBN 1-933045-38-8 / 978-1-933045-38-2 Hardcover, 9 x 11 in. / 192 pgs / 150 color. / U.S. $45.00 CDN $54.00 September / Art Cecily Brown, Chuck Close, John Currin, Peter Doig, Marlene Dumas, Inka Essenhigh, Lucian Freud, Karen Kilimnik, Takashi Murakami, Wangechi Mutu, Chris Ofili, Elizabeth Peyton, Sigmar Polke, Neo Rauch, Gerhard Richter, Wilhelm Sasnal, Luc Tuymans, Lisa Yuskavage

Cover Art
Visual language for designers : principles for creating graphics that people understand - Malamed, Connie
Call Number: O 741.601 MAL
ISBN: 9781592535156
Within every picture is a hidden language that conveys a message, whether it is intended or not. This language is based on the ways people perceive and process visual information. By understanding visual language as the interface between a graphic and a viewer, designers and illustrators can learn to inform with accuracy and power. In a time of unprecedented competition for audience attention and with an increasing demand for complex graphics, Visual Language for Designers explains how to achieve quick and effective communications. It presents ways to design for the strengths of our innate mental capacities and to compensate for our cognitive limitations. Includes: -How to organize graphics for quick perception -How to direct the eyes to essential information -How to use visual shorthand for efficient communication -How to make abstract ideas concrete -How to best express visual complexity -How to charge a graphic with energy and emotion

Cover Art
New masters of poster design : poster design for the next century - Foster, John, 1971-
Call Number: O 741.674 FOS
ISBN: 9781592534340
New in Paperback! In much the way that the CD replaced the album, the poster has waned as a messaging vehicle. The poster has now become a postcard and e-mail blast, leaving many to long for the lost age when posters were not only major promotional vehicles, but also artwork worthy of framing. Some of the world's best designers just could not stand idle while the poster fell by the wayside. They turned to the poster for personal expression and as an outlet from more restrictive mediums. This book showcases their breathtaking artwork, which has proven that the poster can still serve as a worthy communications tool. In doing so, they've brought the poster back to prominence. In this book, John Foster has compiled the world's finest new work at the height of this rebirth. There is currently no book on the market that can claim it features a "definitive" poster collection.

Cover Art
Visions of nature : the art and science of Ernst Haeckel - Breidbach, Olaf
Call Number: O 759.3 BRE
ISBN: 3791336649
This first comprehensive survey of the remarkable work of the late nineteenth-century biologist and artist Ernst Haeckel conveys a vivid picture of a man for whom nature and art were inseparable.A famous biologist and scientist, Haeckel was also enormously influential in the art world, particularly the Art Noveau and Surrealist movements, and his elaborate and mesmerizing illustrations are the subject of continued interest by artists and designers. From his minutely detailed renderings of radiolarians and his vivid depictions of embryonic development to his softly colored landscapes of the Italian countryside, these vibrant reproductions of Haeckel's art works demonstrate a profound appreciation for nature's intrinsic design that will continue to inspire artists for generations to come. This volume also features numerous never before published works. One of the foremost scholars on Haeckel's work explores in this book his revolutionary and often contentious theories on evolution, as well as his contributions as a scientist and explorer. Haeckel's influence on modern art and culture is also highlighted in the introduction. Fusing scientific thought with philosophy and molecular structure with design, this richly illustrated profile of a revolutionary thinker and brilliant artist will delight Haeckel's ever-growing audience.

Cover Art
Lee Bontecou : a retrospective - Smith, Elizabeth A. T., 1958-
Call Number: O 709.2 LEE
ISBN: 9780300137460
New in paperback Artist Lee Bontecou (b. 1931) became widely known in the 1960s and 1970s for her welded steel sculptures and plastic and epoxy molded assemblages--powerful constructions that evoked natural phenomena and organic biological life as well as machines and instruments of war. This critically acclaimed book--available for the first time in paperback-- reevaluates the career of this highly influential artist and focuses not only upon the impact of her early work but also on the import she has exerted on a generation of younger artists. Featuring some 50 sculptures and more than 100 drawings from the late 1950s to 2003, the book presents four essays that reposition Bontecou's work within the history of recent art, examine its shifting critical reception, discuss the artistic context in which her work was made, and analyze how science underpinned some of her earliest explorations.

Cover Art
Botticelli : From Lorenzo the Magnificent to Savonarola
Call Number: O 795.5 BOTT
ISBN: 8884915651
This catalogue is published in conjunction with the major Fall 2003 exhibition organized by the Musee du Luxembourg in Paris. This important and unprecedented exhibition covers the entire career of the Florentine master with over 40 exceptional masterpieces gathered from major museums around the world. Sandro Botticelli was one of the leading painters of the Florentine Renaissance who developed a highly personal style characterized by elegant execution, sense of melancholy and strong emphasis on line. This monograph presents a selection of Botticelli's paintings and drawings, including extraordinary masterpieces such as the Mystic Nativity, St. Augustine in his Studio, Pallade and the Centaur, Annunciation and Madonna and Child, as well as a selection of works by other Renaissance painters like Leonardo da Vinci, Piero di Cosimo, Filippo and Filippino Lippi.

Cover Art
Art treasures of ancient Mexico : journey to the land of the gods - Solís Olguín, Felipe R.
Call Number: O 704.0397 MEXI
ISBN: 0853318581
Addressing the Olmec period through to the Aztecs (a span of over 2500 years), Mexico: Journey to the Land of the Gods is an exploration into the civilizations of Mesoamerica through an examination of 250 magnificent art objects. Specific themes such as daily life, the underworld of the gods, funerary rites, religion and ritual and the role of animals and plants in the cultural life of the region are discussed. The authoritative text is supported by stunning reproductions of artefacts drawn from key ethnographical collections in Mexico. Together these elements help create a story of a civilization in which we can recognize the enduring quests and questions of humankind.

Cover Art
Pheromone : the insect artwork of Christopher Marley - Marley, Christopher, 1969-
Call Number: O 709.2 MAR
ISBN: 9780764946196
This book presents the compositions of Christopher Marley: assemblages of real insect bodies that display brilliant color and otherworldly form. The colors are entirely natural, and to render the reproductions as accurate as possible some have been reproduced with fifth-color metallic inks and highlighted with spot varnish. Accompanying the broad sample of Marley's work is a series of essays by the artist: "Design of Insects," "Insects in Design," "History," "Color," "The Coleoptera Mosaics: An Exercise in Color," "Repetition," "Structure," "Texture," "Variations," "Botanicals," "Size," and "Environmental Effects." Christopher Marley was born in Covina, California, and grew up near Salem, Oregon.

Cover Art
Work - Close, Chuck, 1940-
Call Number: O 759.13 CLO
ISBN: 9783791336763
A landmark publication destined to be the definitive work on one of America's most celebrated living artists, this book is an accessible and comprehensive volume on the art of Chuck Close.Prestel Publications

Cover Art
Vitamin P : new perspectives in painting : Tomma Abts, Franz Ackermann, Nader Ahriman - Bayrle, Thomas, 1937-
Call Number: O 759.06 VIT
ISBN: 0714844462
Vitamin P is an image-filled book that provides an international overview of the state of painting today. Documenting the most recent concerns, ideas and trends, Vitamin P explores the work of a vibrant new generation that is revitalizing this traditional, but continually updated, medium. Included are 114 of painting's leading practitioners, who were nominated by esteemed critics, curators and other experts from around the world. Each artist is represented by numerous examples of his or her work, accompanied by an explanatory text and short biography. Vitamin P illustrates the richness, eclecticism and dynamism of painting today. It is a critical sourcebook and reference work for seasoned art world veterans as well as newcomers to contemporary art.A stimulating introductory text is provided by Barry Schwabsky, who writes regularly for Artforum. He is currently Visiting Lecturer at Goldsmiths College in London.

Cover Art
Hokusai : prints and drawings - Forrer, Matthi
Call Number: O 769.92 FOR
ISBN: 379132490X
Hokusai was one of the great masters of the Japanese woodblock print. His exquisite compositions and dynamic use of color set him apart from other printmakers, and his unequalled genius influenced both Japanese and a whole generation of Western artists. Now available for the first time in paperback, this book reproduces the artist's finest works in plates that convey the full variety of his invention, each of which is provided with an informative commentary. In his introduction, Hokusai expert Matthi Forrer traces the artist's career and defines his place in relation to his contemporaries and to the history of Japanese art. Examining all genres of the artist's prolific output -- including images of city life, maritime scenes, landscapes, views of Mount Fuji, bird and flower illustrations, literary scenes, waterfalls and bridges -- Hokusai, Prints and Drawings provides a detailed account of the artist's genius.

Cover Art
History of art - Janson, H. W. (Horst Woldemar), 1913-1982
Call Number: O 709 JANS V.1
ISBN: 0130197297
There's somewhat less of a focus on style and more interest in current concerns of use and context in Anthony Janson's sixth revision of his father's 1962 survey text. Writing an entire survey text is a heroic task for a single individual; other standard texts are written by committee in the interest of doing justice to each topic. The images and structure of the fifth edition have been retained, while the book's layout has been improved, with readings from primary texts and special topics such as music now highlighted by color borders. Changes have been made to the text in the areas of ancient art and Enlightenment architecture. The highlight of the book remains its quality illustrations. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
History of Art the western tradition - Janson, H. W ; Janson Anthony F.
Call Number: O 709 JANS V.2
ISBN: 0131826239
There's somewhat less of a focus on style and more interest in current concerns of use and context in Anthony Janson's sixth revision of his father's 1962 survey text. Writing an entire survey text is a heroic task for a single individual; other standard texts are written by committee in the interest of doing justice to each topic. The images and structure of the fifth edition have been retained, while the book's layout has been improved, with readings from primary texts and special topics such as music now highlighted by color borders. Changes have been made to the text in the areas of ancient art and Enlightenment architecture. The highlight of the book remains its quality illustrations. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
© Murakami - Murakami, Takashi, 1962-
Call Number: O 709.2 MUR
ISBN: 0847830039
Takashi Murakami is one of contemporary art's most innovative and important figures. Drawing from street culture, high art, and traditional Japanese painting, Murakami takes the contemporary art trend of mixing high and low to an unprecedented level (critics call him the new Warhol), producing original paintings and sculptures as well as mass-produced consumer objects such as toys, books, and most famously, a line of handbags for Louis Vuitton. A committed supporter and spokesperson for Japanese artists and a powerful commentator on postwar culture and society, Murakami has organized influential exhibitions of Japanese art as well as a biannual art fair in Tokyo. Murakami has positioned himself as a new type of artist for the twenty-first century: a hybrid of creator, entrepreneur, and cultural ambassador.In conjunction with the first major retrospective of his work,Murakamitraces Murakami's global impact socially, culturally, and art historically. Essays focus on Murakami's early works, which were based on a social critique of Japan's rampant consumerism; the development of his characters; his work with anime, fantasy; otaku culture; and his engagement with global pop culture. Representing output from original works of art to mass-produced multiples, the catalogue also considers the implications of Murakami's working methods within the tradition of the Western avant-garde.

Cover Art
Magritte and Contemporary Art - Stephanie Barron
Call Number: O 759.9493 MAG
ISBN: 9055446211
Magrittes seminal painting, "The Treachery of Images (This Is Not a Pipe)," is a Surrealist and Modernist masterpiece that has become an instantly recognizable pop culture icon. Its also an excellent image with which to begin a serious discussion about the meaning(s) of representation. While many books and exhibitions have undertaken to survey the work of Magritte, and while many have acknowledged his profound impact upon other artists of his generation, none have yet studied the precise connections between Magrittes work and todays top contemporary artists. In The Treachery of Images, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art brings together more than 50 of the most important Magrittes with an equal number of very significant works by contemporary artists, both cool and edgy, including Jasper Johns, Ed Ruscha, Vija Celmins, Joseph Kosuth, Sherrie Levine, Richard Artschwager, Jeff Koons, Martin Kippenberger, Jim Shaw, Raymond Pettibon, Robert Gober and Marcel Broodthaers. Among the distinguished contributors are the internationally renowned art writer Thierry de Duve, co-curator Michel Draguet (director of the Musées Royaux de Bruxelles), critic Pepe Karmel and art historian Dickran Tashjian. Chapters and interviews are devoted to Ruscha, Celmins, Gober and Artschwager, among others.

Cover Art
Vision and art : the biology of seeing - Harry N. Abrams
Call Number: O 750.18 LIVI
ISBN: 0810904063
This Groundbreaking Yet Accessible study by a noted Harvard neurobiologist draws on history and her own cutting-edge discoveries to explain how the effects of various works of art can be understood by the way the eye and the brain of the viewer work.

Cover Art
Impressionism : paint and politics - House, John, 1945-
Call Number: O 759.409 HOUS
ISBN: 0300102402
In this handsome book, a leading authority on Impressionist painting offers a new view of this admired and immensely popular art form. John House examines the style and technique, subject matter and imagery, exhibiting and marketing strategies, and social, political, and ideological contexts of Impressionism in light of the perspectives that have been brought to it in the last twenty years. When all of these diverse approaches are taken into account, he argues, Impressionism can be seen as a movement that challenged both artistic and political authority with its uncompromisingly modern subject matter and its determinedly secular worldview. Moving from the late 1860s to the early 1880s, House analyzes the paintings and career strategies of the leading Impressionist artists, pointing out the ways in which they countered the dominant conventions of the contemporary art world and evolved their distinctive and immediately recognizable manner of painting. Focusing closely on the technique, composition, and imagery of the paintings themselves and combining this fresh appraisal with recent historical studies of Impressionism, House explores how pictorial style could generate social and political meanings and opens new ways of looking at this luminous art.

Cover Art
Goya - Goya, Francisco, 1746-1828
Call Number: 759.6 GOY

Cover Art
Geometrical designs & optical art : 70 original drawings - Larcher, Jean, 1947-
Call Number: O 769.924 LAR
ISBN: 0486231003
Circles, squares, curves, lines and angles, undulate, shimmer, dazzle, more. 70 plates.

Cover Art
Living jewels 2 : the magical design of beetles - Beckmann, Poul
Call Number: O 779.32 BEC
ISBN: 9783791337777
Beckmann, a photographer and printer based in California, presents a stunning, oversized volume (9.75x13.75") of full-page color plates of his photographs of beetles in his collection. Photographed many times actual size, the beetles are displayed on plain backgrounds, graphically demonstrating their extraordinary colors, textures, and forms. An overview is included that describes the different kinds of beetles worldwide. Not indexed. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
A Sense of Place : The Artist and the American Land - Gussow, Alan
Call Number: O 758.11 GUSS
ISBN: 1559635681
Originally published in 1972 by Friends of the Earth,A Sense of Placeis a remarkable look at the American continent over the past four centuries. Award-winning artist Alan Gussow presents a powerful collection of paintings that range from the earliest depiction of America by a European (John White'sIndians Fishing, c.1585), to contemporary masterpieces such as Reuben Tam'sWhite Sea.For each picture -- works by Winslow Homer, Edward Hopper, George Innes, Georgia O'Keeffe, Anne Poor, Albert Bierstadt, Wolf Kahn, and many others -- the author provides a selection of the artist's own words that describe the painting and the scene that inspired it, along with a brief introduction to the artist and his or her work. An introduction by National Book Award and Pulitzer prize winning poet Richard Wilbur explores the complex relationship between artist and land, while a new preface by Gussow discusses the history and enduring importance of the book.Island Press/Shearwater Books is proud to bring forth a new edition of this stunning, long out-of-print volume.

Cover Art
Women potters : transforming traditions - Vincentelli, Moira
Call Number: O 738.082 VINC
ISBN: 0813533813
It is often claimed that women were the first potters. While this may or may not be the case, the earliest pottery techniques are still used today in many parts of the world, largely by women. Moira Vincentelli proposes that a women's tradition in ceramics is one in which pottery making is a gendered activity intimately connected with female identity. The knowledge is passed down from one generation to the next, mother to daughter, aunt to niece. In much of Africa, South East Asia, Oceania, and among the indigenous peoples of the Americas this is still the case, but even in Europe and the Middle East there are villages that preserve such traditions. The work is usually handbuilt and fired in a bonfire or a simple kiln, as women's traditions rarely involve wheel throwing. It is mostly functional pottery for cooking, storage, and water but its everyday purpose belies the deep symbolic meanings that it may also carry -- from beer pots for celebrations and ritual drinking to broken pots as symbols of death. The book also includes a chapter on figurative ceramics made by women.

Cover Art
Making pottery without a wheel; texture and form in clay - Ball, Frederick Carlton
Call Number: O 738.1 BALL

Cover Art
Art treasures of the Vatican : architecture, painting, sculpture - Redig de Campos, D. (Deoclecio)
Call Number: O 708.5634 ART
This colorful skills atlas serves as a portable, quick-reference to step-by-step maternal-newborn and pediatric nursing procedures. The manual guides you through more than 85 skills using full-color photographs and rationales. It also includes chapters on physical assessment, special pain management techniques, cardiorespiratory care, administration of medications, including intravenous access, and other information useful to nurses in the clinical setting. Throughout the companion textbook, "Maternal-newborn and Child Nursing," special cross-reference icons refer readers to the complete skill presentation in this manual. This Clinical Skill Manual includes: A short description of each skill, followed by the preparation needed by the nurse, equipment and supplies required, and the procedure. Margin boxes and tables with important safety issues, growth and development considerations, teaching for families, and clinical tips. Appendices that provide information on growth grids and calculation of body surface area for medication administration.

Cover Art
Architectural excellence : 500 iconic buildings - Cattermole, Paul
Call Number: O 720.9 GAT
ISBN: 9781554073580
An enjoyable romp through the history of architecture, this oversize volume (9.5x12.25") presents color photos--many as full-page plates--and brief descriptions of the world's most unusual and spectacular buildings. Arranged chronologically, with most of the buildings built after 1800, buildings in Asia, Europe, and North America appear next to one another by virtue of the date they were built, making it a stimulating book to browse. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
Leonardo's notebooks - Leonardo, da Vinci, 1452-1519
Call Number: O 709.2 DAV
ISBN: 1579124577
Art historian Suh has edited and shaped this splendid project: a presentation of Leonardo's notebooks that makes the Renaissance master's thoughts and drawings accessible for those unable to sift through all the 7,000 pages of his original notebooks. The volume is oversize (11x12.5 inches), so the 1,000-plus reproductions in b&w and color are easy to view in detail. The writings are selected and organized to relate to the illustrations. Readers, spared the effort of deciphering the original's right-to-left writing and cryptic abbreviations, can concentrate on the content of his thoughts. The material is arranged in sections on beauty, reason and art; observations and order; and practical matters. The index is particularly helpful for those who want to know Leonardo's thoughts: dyslexia, magnanimity, pain, the importance of sketches, or shadows on waves are just a few of the many topics he addresses. Also, for readers who want to explore a more extensive scholarship on Leonardo, the bibliography cites works in English, French, German, and Italian. Annotation ©2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip